10 reasons why I love the world

“Spin the globe. Pack a bag. Break bread with strangers. Soak in radical beauty. In short – travel”, this is what BBC Travel article “50 Reasons to Love the World” inspired me to do again on a chill depressing March Monday. Suddenly I recalled my own unforgettable trips and it sparked a desire to live and travel again.

Of course, with my modest traveling experience, I couldn’t come up with 50 reasons, that’s why I tried to encapsulate my passion for traveling and love for our amazing world in 10 reasons, which I hope will inspire you to discover new paths and sensations 🙂

So, why do I love (and sometimes adore) the world?

  1. Because after an exhausting 30km night walk in Rome, with our feet swollen and eyes closing of fatigue and cursing our enthusiastic “guide” Armen, we were eventually rewarded with the most delicious gelato at Piazza Navona in Rome and …of course, the view to jaw-droppingly beautiful Piazza Navona itself.

    Piazza Navona and us after the 30km marathon

    Piazza Navona and us after the 30km marathon

  1. Because after the 3 hours of turmoil at the Zvartnots Airport, stressful flight and furious fights with the whole airport personnel, three of almost desperate friends- Sima, Sossi and I- found paradise in the caressing waters of the Indian Ocean in Fujairah UAE, catching the naughty waves and feeling grateful for happiness to have each other as friends.
With crazy adventurers Sima and Sossi by the Indian Ocean, Fujairah

With crazy adventurers Sima and Sossi by the Indian Ocean, Fujairah

  1. Because over the mystic Vorotan river canyon on the world’s longest Wings of Tatev ropeway, I strived to imprint every meter of this amazing scenery and the miraculous Tatev Monastery itself with every cell of my eyes and brain.

    Stunning Tatev Monastery

    Stunning Tatev Monastery

  1. Because after the 12 days of relaxing “internet detox” vacation with my mom in fun-filled Batumi, I came back a different person- literally- 50% darker due to the chocolate suntan “awarded” by the Black Sea sun and near-nirvana state of mind .

    In Batumi

    In Batumi

  1. Because while tasting Georgian rosé, pigging out khinkali at Tbilisi Maidani with my friend Ruzanna and flirting around with handsome Georgian guys, I experienced the joy of delicious food, a heart-to-heart conversation and – the pleasure of being likedJ (no matter how superficial it may sound).
Exploring Tbilisi with my friend Ruzanna

Exploring Tbilisi with my friend Ruzanna

  1. Because the waters of the Adriatic Sea are so inviting despite the rain and storm that I cast away all the precautions and divedin the dark blue depths, sensing for a moment a very Italian “I-don’t-care attitude” attitude toward life- light-hearted and light-minded.1606930_10202516229446604_577791386292240251_n
  1. Because together with my colleagues, I felt the inconsolable sorrow of Shushi – this widowed, slaughtered but still charming beauty, and came back home changed- influenced by the maturing power of catharsis, praying for peace and harmony in my homeland and in the world.

    One of the 4 mosques in Shushi (Armenians destroyed none of them)

    One of the 4 mosques in Shushi (Armenians destroyed none of them)

  1. Because the nature of Artsakh is so arresting that I forgot the fatigue of the 7-hour-long bus trip on twisted roads and felt ready to traverse another 7-hours in this mystic land to explore it to the fullest.

    Jdrduz canyon, Artsakh

    Sunrise at Jdrduz canyon, Artsakh

  1. Because Florence is so unforgettable that I sometimes dream about it, miss it almost painfully like my home town –miss its specific aroma, hear its peculiar music coming from the narrow streets and become speechless like Stendhal seeing the unmatched beauty of Duomo and Basilica of Santa Croce.

    On top of Duomo, Florence, with my friends

    On top of Duomo, Florence, with my friends

  1. Because after each journey, I involuntarily sing “I’m coming home” and smile to the thought I’m back in Yerevan. After overcoming the jet lag and realizing my whereabouts, I confess to myself that no matter how bored/bogged down/stuck/ frustrated I feel in my home town at times, for me this sweet feeling of coming home Yerevan- is the first and foremost reason why I love the worldJ.

    Spring at Abovyan street, Yerevan

    Spring at Abovyan street, Yerevan

6 thoughts on “10 reasons why I love the world

  1. Pingback: Pre-vacation stress: yes, it happens | Siri's Room

  2. Pingback: BeNe Trip: Day 3- Ghent, or Mission Completed | Siri's Room

  3. Pingback: Books and me by Sirvard (Siri) Amatuni - Biblio blog

  4. Pingback: An extreme lover? Zip-lining, rock climbing and off-road driving in Armenia -

  5. Pingback: Зиплайн, скалолазание и езда по бездорожью в Армении для экстремалов

  6. Pingback: Can shopping beat the blues? Shopping vs alternative  “therapies” | Siri's Room

Leave a Reply

